top of page
Search
  • gemmaastley

Waiting on 2020 babies!

We are well into the new year and inquiries have started as to when pink tongue skink babies will be available. We are delighted by your interest!


Winter is the breeding season for this charming species, which means babies tend to be born between April and June. As a live bearing species, with large litters, gestation is understandably rather long. It's around this time that I start to weigh my females to monitor their weight gain, as this helps me track their pregnancy progress, and gives me an idea of when they are getting ready to give birth.


The primary signs to look for is a lack of appetite, increased basking, and (eventually) heavy breathing. Once my girls are at a point where they rarely move; simply lying around, breathing heavily, I know they're only one to three weeks away from giving birth.



Europa is beginning to fill out; a good sign

I've bred two females this season; Europa (one of my 2018 babies) and Pandora (mother to the 2019 litter). Both are just starting to fill out and increase their time basking so I am hopeful that I might have two litters dropping in Spring. I'm particularly excited to see what first time breeder, Europa, produces for me!


Meanwhile, my 2019 hold backs are just beginning to reach a sexable size. I am optimistic that one is a female (who I plan to keep back for breeding), and one is trending male. The third could go either way at this point!


Here are a few pics of them:








If you have any questions about the purchasing process, pink tongue skink care, or anything else regarding these beautiful skinks, please feel free to contact me! You can comment here on the blog, send me a message via the front page of this website, or email me at gerrardiigems@gmail.com


I will update the blog as things progress!

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2023 News!

I was originally planning on taking this year off due to travel commitments but that has changed. I now have 4 pairs of skinks showing breeding behaviour and I am cautiously optimistic that I will hav

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page